2019 Results


Jon Kirkman set up a new record on his Mountain Bike!
24 hrs 43 min (moving time), 297 km

X-Berg Challenge Extreme race 21-23 Mar 2019

Overall results:

1st – Jon Kirkman (Mountain Biking Solo) – new record time 24 hrs 43 min moving time, 297 km total cycled

2nd – Justin Armstrong & Peter Joughin (Mountain Biking Team)

3rd – Wesley Antonites (Trail Running Solo)



1st – Jeremy Holdcroft

2nd – Ben Arnold

3rd – James Heydenrych

4th – Laurent Monneron & Laurent Borella (Swiss team)

5th – Ruard de Bruyn

6th – Ria Moothilal


Trail Running:

1st – Wesley Antonites

2nd – Neel Breitenbach

3rd – Vanessa Fisher

4th – Christine Havinga & Tanya Cronje (team)


Mountain Biking:

1st – Jon Kirkman

2nd – Justin Armstrong & Peter Joughin (team)

3rd – Andre Dempers

4th – Licarmi Smith


X-Berg Challenge Mini race 22-23 Mar 2019

Overall results:

1st – Hendrik van Zyl (Mixed Discipline)

2nd – Russell Smith (Mountain Biking)

3rd – St Martin’s school team 1 & 2 (Trail Running) (Luca Correia, Enrique Lotter, Amir Bhika, … Meyer & David Midgley)

4th – Mark Human (Paragliding)

After a few days of recovery, we look back in awe of the 2019 X-Berg Challenge. The gloomy overcast weather may have hampered some of the athlete’s performances, particularly the paragliders, but it did not dampen their spirits.

Armed with Racefood for energy, aQuelle’ water to refresh them, CityRock buffs for warmth, Ici-co Herbal Gel for muscle pain, Skybean and SPOT trackers to prevent anyone from getting lost, the 17 competitors were ready to battle the three day extreme race across the Drakensberg.

The extreme race started on 21st March 2019 from the Phat Chef Roadside Diner & Windmill Farm, and ended at the Drakensberg Brewery The athletes chose their own routes to reach turning points and supply stops, which were located at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, Didima Camp, and Monks Cowl, to name but a few.

Cyclist Jon Kirkman was first across the finish line, completing 297km in 24hr and 43mins, a new record time for solo cyclist on this route! Cyclist team Justin Armstrong and Peter Joughin joined Kirman a day later, finishing the race on a strong note. Third place was awarded to solo runner Wesley Antonities, a first time racer.

The X-Berg Challenge Mini race, which consists of two instead of three days, kicked off on 22nd March at 8am at Didima Camp. Eight competitors raced across the fogged down mountains in hope of reaching the finish line before the following days 5pm cut off time.

First place was awarded to previous years’ participant Hendrik Van Zyl, who partook with multiple disciplines. Next across was first time racer and cyclist Russell Smith, followed by the five St. Martins school boys, runners Luca Correia, Enrique Lotter, Amir Bhika, Hansie Meyer, and David Midgley.

A fun filled prize giving and dinner at the Drakensberg Brewery was the perfect celebration to end off the adventurous weekend. Some well deserved rest was enjoyed at Mountain Splendour Eco Resort with some paragliders catching up on the latest Cross Country Magazine news. The excitement has already started to build in anticipation for next year’s X-Berg Challenge! Wheels certainly won this year, but who knows what next year holds. A huge extended congratulations goes out to all participants, support teams, sponsors and all those involved!